Young, Iowa House Delegation Call on Speaker Ryan to Support the RFS


Young, Iowa House Delegation Call on Speaker Ryan to Support the RFS

WASHINGTON, D.C. – December 09, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — The U.S. House members of the Iowa delegation, led by Congressman David Young, sent a letter to Speaker Ryan urging him to uphold Congress’ promise to the renewable fuels industry by opposing any efforts to undermine the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) on must-pass appropriations bills.

Members wrote “Congress established the RFS in 2005 to reduce the United States’ growing dependency on foreign oil, promote cleaner air, create good-paying jobs, and foster rural economic growth. As with any new industry, it takes time to become self-sustaining. Yet, RFS is working as intended and the renewable fuels industry is continuing to develop. In 2014, Iowa produced nearly 3.9 billion of ethanol and 227 million gallons of biodiesel. Additionally, Iowa has three cellulosic ethanol facilities producing the next generation of renewable fuels. Altogether, the industry has contributed over $19 billion annually to the Iowa economy and supported over 70,000 high-paying jobs.

“Unfortunately, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is creating uncertainty in the renewable fuels sector by releasing Renewable Volume Obligations lower than the Congressional requirement contained in law. This constrains investment in renewable fuels, reduces consumer choice at the pump, and hurts farmers in rural America. Congress should not contribute to this uncertainty or depress an industry which diversifies the employment opportunities in states like Iowa. Instead, we should bolster this viable, domestic industry by keeping the promises made in the Energy Policy Act of 2005 and the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007.”

A copy of the letter can be found here.

Young is a strong proponent of the RFS. He has repeatedly fought against efforts in the Administration and Congress to modify the RFS.

David Young is the Congressman serving all the people of Iowa’s 3rd District. He is a member of the Committee on Appropriations and Subcommittees on Agriculture, Homeland Security, and Transportation, Housing and Urban Development.


Iowa RealEstateRama is an Internet based Real Estate News and Press Release distributor chanel of RealEstateRama for Iowa Real Estate publishing community.

RealEstateRama staff editor manage to selection and verify the real estate news for State of Iowa.


Previous articleReps. Blum, Loebsack Urge Funding for Projects Like Cedar Rapids Flood Protection
Next articleBranstad, Reynolds Announce 2016 First-Time Home Buyer Tax Credit Program